The following news item is courtesy of AMSAT (the Radio Amateur Satellite Corporation):

AMSAT North America has announced the results of the  2018 Board of Directors Election.  Tom Clark, K3IO, Mark Hammond, N8MH, and Bruce Paige, KK5DO, will serve on the AMSAT Board of Directors for two years.

The First Alternate is Peter Portanova, W2JV. The Second Alternate is Scott Harvey, KA7FVV. Both will serve for a term of one year.

The results of the voting with 698 ballots cast are as follows:

Thanks to: Paul Stoetzer, Martha Saragovitz (Manager) and Clayton Coleman, W5PFG (Secretary).


The Radio Amateur Satellite Corporation (as AMSAT is officially known) was first formed in the District of Columbia in 1969 as an educational organization. Its goal was to foster Amateur Radio’s participation in space research and communication. AMSAT was founded to continue the efforts, begun in 1961, by Project OSCAR, a west coast USA-based group which built and launched the very first Amateur Radio satellite, OSCAR, on December 12, 1961, barely four years after the launch of Russia’s first Sputnik.

Today, the “home-brew” flavor of these early Amateur Radio satellites lives on, as most of the hardware and software now flying on even the most advanced AMSAT satellites is still largely the product of volunteer effort and donated resources. Though we are fond of traditions our designs and technology continue to push the outside of the envelope.

For over 48 years AMSAT groups in North America and elsewhere have played a key role in significantly advancing the state of the art in space science, space education, and space technology.