Site Map

Contact RAC

Join RAC



  Log Into Members' Section  
Register Mbr. No.: Password: Forgot your password?


From: RAC Headquarters Date: October 12, 2001 Subject: IARU Region II elects new Executive IARU-Region II General Assembly Elects New Executive At XIV IARU-Region II Triennial Conference In Guatemala City After serving for 18 years on the IARU-Region II Executive Committee as President, Secretary, Treasurer, Vice-President and Area A Director, Tom Atkins, VE3CDM, retired from the office of IARU-Region II. Many presentations were made to Tom for his long and outstanding service. Radio Amateurs of Canada presented Tom with a plaque recognizing him for his outstanding achievements and long service. Area C Director Guillermo Nunez, XE1NJ also retires from the IARU-Region II Executive. The following were elected for a three-year term: President: Pedro Seidemann, YV5BPG Vice-President: Dario Jurado,HP1DJ Secretary: Rod Stafford, W6ROD Treasurer: Noel Donawa 9Y4NED Area Directors: A - Tim Ellam, VE6SH B - Rod Stafford, W6ROD C - Pedro Rodriguez, CO2RP D - Marco T Gudiel, TG9AGD E - Noel Donawa, 9Y4NED F - Gustavo de Faria Franco, PT2ADM G - Reinaldo Szama, LU2AH Canadian Amateurs participating in IARU-Region II affairs have a long and outstanding history. With the retirement of Tom Atkins, VE3CDM, from the IARU-Region II Executive, and the recent election of Tim Ellam, VE6SH as Area A Director, represents the continuing involvement of Canadian Amateurs since the founding of Region II in Mexico City in 1964. At that time, under the leadership of Noel Eaton, VE3CJ and others, having the foresight to know and understand that Region II needed to organize themselves for the future of the amateur radio service. With the election of Tim Ellam, VE6SH, as Area A Director, the Canadian tradition continues!