Site Map

Contact RAC

Join RAC



  Log Into Members' Section  
Register Mbr. No.: Password: Forgot your password?


In addition to their legal role in making policy decisions, the member-elected RAC Directors actively participate in RAC management through membership in various committees. There are Standing Committees, Ad Hoc Committees and Advisory Committees.

Standing Committees

Standing Committee appointments are made by the President upon consultation with the Board of Directors, and are for a term of one year. Each Standing Committee consists of no more than two Directors, plus one or more members of the Executive or Assistant Directors, and is limited to six persons. Standing Committees make a report at least four weeks prior to each annual meeting of the Board of Directors. The current Standing Committees are shown below. Additional Standing Committees may be instituted as the need arises.

Administration and Finance Committee


Geoff Bawden, VE4BAW (ex-officio)

Membership Services Committee

Geoff Bawden, VE4BAW (ex-officio)

Youth Education Committee

Mark Richardson, VA3OBO
Neil Carleton, VE3NCE
Geoff Bawden, VE4BAW (ex-officio)

Ad-Hoc Committees

The President may appoint Ad-Hoc Committees at any time to carry out specific assignments.

Advisory Committees

The President may appoint Advisory Committees as he deems necessary to perform specific on-going or one-time functions. He first obtains the approval of the Board for their establishment, including their terms of reference. A list of volunteers who organize and chair RAC Advisory Committees, (or in some cases act as one person advisory committees), are listed below:

VHF / UHF Band Planning Committee

Jack Belrose, VE2CV
Barry Bergstrom, VE6MK
Don Dashney, VE3RM
Al Thurber, VE1AKT
Jean-Guy Renaud, VE2AIK
Bill Tracey, VE7QQ

0-30MHz Band Planning Committee

Scott Wood, VE1QD
Don Moman, VE6JY
Mel Martin, VE2DC
Frank VanderZande, VE7AV

Microwave Band Planning Committee


Grant Furnald, VE6TA
John Currie, VE1ZJ
Lionel Edwards, VE7BQH
Clare Fowler, VE3NPC
Gunter Neugebauer, VE7CLD

Antenna Structures Committee


RAC Volunteer Managers and Advisors

ARRL Accredited to check cards for VUCC

Ken Oelke, VE6AFO
Dana Shtun, VE3DS

ARRL Accredited to check cards for WAS

Ken Oelke, VE6AFO
Dana Shtun, VE3DS

Awards Manager

John Scott, VE1JS

National ARDF Co-ordinator

Joe Young, VE7BFK

Chair, Canadian Amateur Radio Hall of Fame Board of Trustees

Ed Frazer, VE7EF

Canada Winter Contest Manager

Sam Ferris, VE5SF

Canada Day Contest Manager

Bart Ritchie, VE5CPU

Canadian Contest Championship Manager

Bruce Rattray, VE5RC/VE5QRP

RAC Trophy Sponsorship


QSL Bureau Liason


National Incoming QSL Bureau

Len Morgan, VE9MY

National Outgoing QSL Bureau

Nenad Stevanovic, VE3EXY

Government Affairs Volunteer Advisors

Bob Kavanagh, VE3OSZ
Bruce Wightman, VE3EDR
Ralph Cameron, VE3BBM

TCA Editor

Alan Griffin,

Propagation Forecasts

Jacques d'Avignon, VE3VIA

External Joint Committees

Many RAC members, (as well as members of the Board and Executive) are invited to sit on joint advisory committees, or advisory committees to other organizations such as the ARRL and Industry Canada.

ARISS Technical Committee

Robin Haighton, VE3FRH

ARRL Contest Advisory Cmmittee

John Scott, VE1JS

ARRL DXAC Committee

John Scott, VE1JS

RAC Monitoring Co-ordinator

Don Moman, VE6JY

Canadian Amateur Radio Advisory Board

Co-chair Geoff Bawden, VE4BAW (ex-officio)

IARU Region 2 Executive Council

Tim Ellam, VE6SH

ITU - RAC representative to IC for ITU Spectrum Management

Bryan Rawlings, VE3QN