Home

Site Map

Contact RAC

Join RAC

Search

Français


  Log Into Members' Section  
Register Mbr. No.: Password: Forgot your password?

Grant Information
RAC

The RAC Foundation is administered by Community Foundation of Ottawa (CFO), which will issue grant cheques. All grant applications should be submitted to the RAC Foundation for processing and recommendation.

Fund Disbursement

Revenue Canada provides for the following charitable purposes relevant to Radio Amateurs of Canada, Inc.:

Advancement of Education - This includes "providing scholarships, bursaries, and prizes for scholastic achievement", and "undertaking research in a recognized field of knowledge (the research must be carried out for educational purposes and the results must be made available to the public)". The former would be reserved for radio amateurs. The latter would be reserved for research/development which would benefit all Canadian radio amateurs.

Purposes Beneficial to the Community - Organizations which normally qualify as charitable include those with the following purposes: "providing public amenities to benefit the community", "establishing safety rescue operations", and "providing facilities for people with special needs". The first could cover such activities as grants for radio equipment and/or courses in schools, youth organizations, or homes for the elderly, or disabled. The second may apply to investment in equipment for Amateur Radio Emergency Service groups, who support their local communities and the Canadian Red Cross with public service and disaster communications. The latter could apply to support for equipment, courses, or development of suitable devices or techniques for the handicapped or disabled.

Donor Designation

RAC has decided to offer four categories for donor designation and grant applications:

  1. Scholastic grants - scholarships and bursaries for radio amateurs (must be licensed at time of grant application) for full-time attendance at educational institution - university or community college;
  2. Research grants - research or development must be related to furtherance of amateur radio technology
  3. Community grants - grants for amateur radio equipment or courses relating to schools, community, seniors, youth or disabled homes or centres, for the benefit of that or surrounding community.
  4. Emergency grants - grants for amateur radio equipment or courses relating to emergency communications, search and rescue communications, and related public service communications.

Size of Grants

Decisions on grant size will be at the sole discretion of the RAC Directors or their designees. They may choose to disburse several smaller grants or one larger grant in the same amount depending upon their evaluation of the relative merits of the grant applications. To deal with initial limitations of disbursable income, RAC has set a minimum of $250 for a grant. That means if a year end disbursable amount in a particular grant category totals less than $250, then no grant will be disbursed that year, and, at the discretion of the RAC Board or their designees, the amount will be allowed to grow for another year, or transferred to another category. The faster the Foundation assets grow, the sooner this initial startup problem will be overcome.

Grant Applications

Decisions on grant awards will be made on the merits of grant applications, within the limits of the RAC Foundation earnings on donations in that donation category. Under Canadian tax regulations, Foundations may disburse funds only to institutions which are themselves charitable. All disbursement cheques must be made payable to the charitable institution which the grant applicant designates on the grant application form. The cheque will be sent from Community Foundation of Ottawa to Radio Amateurs of Canada, Inc. for presentation to the grant applicant, who will then deliver the cheque to the institution. Only institutions listed by Revenue Canada as Qualified Donees are considered qualified for support by a Foundation under Canadian tax regulations. Canadian universities, community colleges, hospitals, and most seniors', youth, and community centres qualify. Before deciding on the merits of a grant application, the RAC Board or their designees will check the institution shown on the grant application to confirm that it is listed by Revenue Canada as a "Qualified Donee".

RAC Foundation - Scholastic Grant Application Form

RAC Foundation - Project Grant Application Form


The RAC Foundation
c/o Radio Amateurs of Canada
720 Belfast Rd., Suite 217
Ottawa, ON K1G 0Z5

Accueil

Carte du site

Nous joindre

Adhérer à RAC

Chercher

English


  Connecter au section des membres  
Inscrire No. de mem.: Mot-de-passe: Mot-de-passe oublié?

Information sur les allocations
RAC

La Fondation RAC est administrée par la Community Foundation d’Ottawa (CFO), laquelle voit à émettre les chèques de subvention. Tout ce qui est relié aux subventions doit être soumis à la Fondation RAC tant sur le plan du processus que sur celui de la recommandation.

Déboursement des fonds

Revenue Canada assure Radio Amateurs du Canada inc. de son soutien lorsqu’il s’agit des actions caritatives suivantes:

Avancement de l’éducation – Ceci comprend "l’enseignement, bourses, prix pour la réussite scolastique et le soutien à la recherche dans un domaine reconnu de la connaissance (la recherche doit être faite dans un cadre éducatif et les résultats rendus disponibles au grand public)". Le premier (former) prix sera réservé aux radioamateurs. Le dernier (later) ira à la recherche et au développement de manière à profiter à tous les radioamateurs canadiens.

Bénéfices à la communauté – Les organisations que l’on qualifie normalement de caritatives possèdent les caractéristiques suivantes : "elles procurent du bien-être au bénéfice de la communauté", "voient à la mise en œuvre d’activités de sécurité et de sauvetage " et "procurent de l’aide aux personnes éprouvant des besoins particuliers". La première couvre des activités telles des subventions pour de l’équipement radio et/ou des cours à l’école, dans des organismes de jeunesse, ou à la maison pour les personnes âgées ou invalides. La deuxième peut s’appliquer à des investissements en équipement pour des groupes d’urgence radioamateurs qui soutiennent leur communauté locale et la Croix rouge canadienne au moyen de la communication dans les services publics ou en cas de désastres. La dernière est à l’effet d’offrir son soutien pour de l’équipement, des cours, ou du développement d’appareils ou techniques destinés aux personnes handicapées ou invalides.

Catégories de donateurs

RAC a décidé de créer quatre catégories pour désigner les donateurs et répartir les subventions:

  1. Subvention pour études – études (scholarships) et bourses pour les radioamateurs (ils doivent être munis de leur licence au moment de l’application pour une subvention) pour le plein temps dans une institution éducative - université ou collège;
  2. Subventions à la recherche – la recherche et développement doit être reliée à l’acquisition de connaissance en technologie radioamateure.
  3. Subventions communautaires – les subventions pour l’équipement ou cours radioamateurs à l’école, dans la communauté, chez les plus âgés, les jeunes, les personnes invalides à la maison ou dans des centres, au bénéfice de la communauté locale.
  4. Subventions pour urgences – subventions pour l’équipement radioamateur ou cours reliés aux communications d’urgence, à la recherche et sauvetage et aux services publics.

Niveaux des subventions

Les décisions à propos de l’importance à accordée aux subventions sont à la seule discrétion des directeurs de RAC ou de leur représentant désigné. Ils peuvent choisir de payer plusieurs petites subventions ou une seule d’un même montant dépendamment de l’évaluation au mérite qu’ils en font. Comme limite minimum à débourser, RAC a retenu le montant de $250 pour une catégorie de subventions. Cela signifie que si le total à verser dans une catégorie spécifique pour une année, n’atteint pas 250 $, le versement n’aura pas lieu cette année-là, et à la discrétion du Conseil d’administration ou des représentants désignés, le montant s’ajoutera à celui d’une autre année ou transféré à une autre catégorie. Plus les actifs de la fondation progresseront rapidement, plus vite les problèmes de démarrage disparaîtront.

Utilisation des subventions

Les décisions concernant l’utilisation des subventions se prennent au mérite, à l’intérieur des limites basées sur les revenus de la Fondation RAC provenant de dons pour une catégorie en particulier. Selon le règlement des taxes au Canada, les fondations peuvent verser des fonds seulement aux institutions caritatives. Tous les chèques sont faits à l’ordre de l’institution caritative dont le nom de l’appliquant apparaît sur le formulaire de demande de subvention. Le chèque sera envoyé de la Community Foundation of Ottawa à Radio Amateurs du Canada inc. pour être remis au récipiendaire de la subvention, qui à son tour le remettra à l’institution concernée. Seules les institutions qualifiées apparaissant sur la liste de Revenue Canada sont considérées compatibles aux exigences des fondations en vertu de les règlements de l’impôt et taxes au Canada. Les universités canadiennes, collèges, hôpitaux, et la plupart des centres pour personnes âgées, pour la jeunesse et les centres communautaires se qualifient. Avant de décider du mérite d’une application, le Conseil d’administration (les directeurs) de RAC ou leurs représentants désignés vérifiera la recevabilité de l’institution dont le nom apparaît sur la liste de Revenue Canada à titre de « donateur qualifié ».

Fondation RAC – Formulaire d’application pour subvention

Fondation RAC – Formulaire d’application pour projet

Fondation RAC

À l’attention de : Radio Amateurs du Canada
720 route Belfast, suite 217
Ottawa, ON K1G 0Z5