Home

Site Map

Contact RAC

Join RAC

Search

Français

Download Documents

Forms and Documents


  Log Into Members' Section  
Register Mbr. No.: Password: Forgot your password?

Public Service
RAC

National Field Organization E-mail Contacts:            

Statement of RAC Board Support for the Field Services

The RAC Field Organization is national in scope and comprises eight Sections, each headed by an elected Section Manager. The basic functions of the Field Organization are listed below, as well as information regarding the Regional Amateur Radio Alert Network and the Public Service Honour Roll. Click on the above links to find detailed information on your area of interest.

Public Service Communications

Amateur Radio exists as a frequency spectrum user because it qualifies as a service. Its continued existence depends to a great degree not on the service it has performed in the past, or on its simple potential for service, but on what service it is performing now and will continue to perform in the future. Recognizing this principle, the U.S. American Radio Relay League in 1935 organized what is known now as the Amateur Radio Emergency Service™ (ARES). In 1949, the ARRL created the National Traffic System (NTS). These two organizations are sponsored throughout Canada by Radio Amateurs of Canada. The emergency-preparedness program of ARES combines with the daily traffic-handling program of the NTS to produce a single strong facility for rendering continuous service to the public. The emergency-preparedness program of ARES is kept up to date by frequent drills and tests. In an emergency, the NTS serves as the vehicle for relay of traffic over medium and long distances while local ARES nets take care of local communications and deliveries. Close liaison is maintained between these two divisions at a national and local level.

Amateur Radio Emergency Service (ARES)

The ARES is composed of licenced radio amateurs who have voluntarily registered their qualifications and equipment for communications duty in the public service when disaster strikes. Every licenced radio amateur, whether or not a member of RAC or any other local or regional organization, is eligible for membership in the Amateur Radio Emergency Service (ARES). The only qualification is a sincere desire to serve. The possession of emergency-powered equipment is desirable but not a requirement. Interested operators may text11b. "Any and all use of the RAC AMATEUR RADIO EMERGENCY SERVICE & DESIGN trade-mark requires a written licence or permission from Radio Amateurs of Canada Incorporated."

New Official RAC ARES Safety Vest

The RAC Amateur Radio Emergency Service now has an official safety vest for use by all members of the ARES. For more information, please click HERE.

National Traffic System

The NTS is the principal facility for medium to long range traffic. It is organized on the basis of daily operation, in consonance with the operating habits of the average radio amateur. In emergencies, NTS is geared to go into continuous operation in accordance with the needs and the extent of the particular emergency.

New RAC Team For National Support to Public Service

The RAC Field Organization has named four persons who have agreed to fill newly-created departments in support of the Amateur Radio Emergency Service and the National Traffic System. As of February 1, 2008, the following volunteers assume their respective roles: Hew Lines, VA7HU, RAC National Traffic System Coordinator (NTSC); David Drinnan, VE9FK, RAC ARES National Training Coordinator (NTC); Ken Oelke, VE6AFO, RAC ARES National Emergency Coordinator (NEC); and Drew Watson, VA7DR, Manager of the RAC National Amateur Radio Emergency Database (NARED). These are support functions and will not supersede or replace Section appointments. RAC extends sincere thanks to these individuals for their unselfish willingness to serve. Descriptions of these new positions may be viewed HERE.

Official Bulletin Service

Rapid dissemination of information is the lifeblood of an active, progressive organization. The RAC Official Bulletin Service Network provides a vital communications link for informing the amateur radio community of the latest developments in Amateur Radio and RAC. The Official Bulletin Manager in each RAC Section is responsible for recruiting and supervising a team of Official Bulletin Stations to disseminate such news and information of interest to amateurs in the Section and to provide a means of getting the information to the OBS appointees.

Official Observer Service

This program was developed to encourage the traditional high standards on the amateur radio bands. The program objective is to reinforce good operating habits. Punishing bad operating habits is the task of enforcement by Industry Canada. A thorough knowledge of the Radiocommunication Regulations and the Radiocommunication Information Circulars (RICs) is a necessity in performing Official Observer functions.

Regional Amateur Radio Alert Network

A new service, the Regional Amateur Radio Alert Network (RARAN), has been set up by RAC's Field Services to support the AMBER Alert, a voluntary co-operative plan with various supporters, including radio/television stations, certain commercial interests and provincial transportation ministries. It is operated by and for the police. The plan calls for police to provide critical information concerning a confirmed child abduction, which could assist in locating the child, to the public. So far, Amateur Radio operators in Ontario and British Columbia have volunteered to form the networks and RARAN is active in both Sections. If you are willing and able to participate in either network, you are encouraged to register by clicking on your respective province (above). More information about the AMBER Alert in Canada can be obtained at http://www.rcmp-grc.gc.ca/omc-ned/news-nouv/amber-eng.htm.

Any Radio Amateur wishing to assist in setting up a RARAN in a province not yet having one should contact their Section Manager and the RAC Vice President Field Services.

Public Service Honour Roll

In each Public Service column published in The Canadian Amateur (TCA), the Public Service Honour Roll (PSHR) recognizes the efforts of Amateur Radio operators who are active in many aspects of public service. This includes net operations, traffic handling, emergency operations and public service communication support. It's likely that you're already involved with some aspect of Amateur Radio that would apply to the Public Service Honour Roll(PSHR). CLICK HERE for information.

Note: In Canada the Amateur Radio Emergency Service and the RAC ARES logo are registered trade-marks of Radio Amateurs of Canada Inc. with registration number TMA716313 issued by the Canadian Intellectual Property Office of Industry Canada.  Any and all use of the RAC AMATEUR EMERGENCY SERVICE AND DESIGN trade-mark requires licence or permission from Radio Amateurs of Canada Incorporated.

Accueil

Carte du site

Nous joindre

Adhérer à RAC

Chercher

English

Download Documents

Forms and Documents


  Connecter au section des membres  
Inscrire No. de mem.: Mot-de-passe: Mot-de-passe oublié?

Service au public
RAC

Courriels:            

Rapport du Bureau de RAC sur les Services à l'extérieur

L'Organisation des services à l'extérieur est nationale et comprend huit sections, chacune étant dirigée par un gérant élu. Les fonctions de base de l'Organisation de RAC sur le terrain sont listées ci-dessous, comme l'est aussi l'information concernant le Réseau d'alerte radioamateur (Amateur Radio Alert Network) et le « Public Service Honour Roll ». Cliquez sur les liens ci-dessus pour des informations détaillées à propos du secteur qui vous intéresse.

Communications et Service Public

Le radioamateurisme - et son éventail de fréquences – est présent parmi nous parce qu'il se qualifie comme service public. Sa pérennité dépend dans une large mesure, non pas des services qu'il a rendus dans le passé ou encore de son potentiel de services, mais de ceux qu'il rend maintenant et qu'il rendra à l'avenir. Se basant sur ce principe, la U.S. American Radio Relay League” (ARRL), en 1935, mettait sur pied un organisme connu maintenant sous le nom de "Amateur Radio Emergency Service" (ARES). En 1949, l'ARRL créait le "National Traffic System" (NTS). Ces deux organismes sont commandités partout au Canada par Radio Amateurs du Canada. Le programme de préparation aux urgences d’ARES s'allie à celui de la gestion du trafic radio (NTS) pour former une solide organisation capable de fournir un service continu au public. Le programme de préparation aux urgences d'ARES est maintenu à niveau par de fréquents exercices et de nombreux tests. En situation d'urgence, NTS sert de véhicule pour le trafic radio de moyenne et longue distance, pendant que le réseau d'ARES local s'occupe des communications et des livraisons locales. Un contact serré est maintenu entre ces deux entités tant au niveau national que local.

Service d'urgence radioamateur (ARES)

Le Service d’urgence radioamateur (ARES) est formé de radioamateurs agréés qui ont volontairement enregistré leurs qualifications et leurs équipements dans le but de se mettre au service du public en cas de désastre.  Chaque radioamateur agréé, membre de RAC ou non ou de tout autre organisation locale ou régionale est éligible pour devenir membre d’ARES. Se qualifier démontre un désir sincère d’aider. Posséder un équipement énergétique d’urgence est souhaitable mais non indispensable. Les amateurs intéressés à se qualifier peuvent text11b. Tout usage du terme ARES (AMATEUR RADIO EMERGENCY SERVICE) et de son logo, n’est possible qu’avec l’autorisation écrite (licence ou permission) de Radio Amateurs du Canada inc.

Nouzeau gilet de sécurité pour ARES de RAC

Le Service d'urgence ARES de RAC dispose maintenant d'un gilet officiel de sécurité pouvant être utilisé par tous les membres d'ARES. Pour plus d'informations, s.v.p. cliquer ICI..

Systeme national de trafic radio

Le Système national de trafic radio (NTS) est le principal outil au service des communications radio de moyenne et longue distance. L'organisation du travail se fait sur une base quotidienne en accord avec les habitudes opérationnelles de la moyenne des radioamateurs. En fonctionnement urgence, NTS passe en mode opération continue, prenant en compte les besoins générés par un type particulier d'urgence.

Nouvelle Équipe nationale de RAC en soutien aux services publics

L'organisation de RAC de service à l'exterieur a nommé quatre personnes qui ont accepté de s'occuper des services récemment créés en soutien à ARES (Amateur Radio Emergency Service) et au NTS (National Traffic System). Depuis le premier février 2008, les bénévoles suivants assument respectivement les fonctions suivantes: Hew Lines, VA7HU, RAC National Traffic System Coordinator (NTSC); David Drinnan, VE9FK, RAC ARES National Training Coordinator (NTC); Ken Oelke, VE6AFO, RAC ARES National Emergency Coordinator (NEC); et Drew Watson, VA7DR, gérant de RAC National Amateur Radio Emergency Database (NARED). Les personnes nommées à ces postes de soutien ne remplacent pas celles nommées dans les sections. RAC tient à remercier sincèrement ces personnes de leur généreux désir d'aider. Pour la description de chacun de ces nouveaux postes cliquer ici..

Le service du bulletin officiel

La circulation rapide de l'information est essentielle à une organisation active et progressive. Le service réseau de la publication officielle de RAC, est vital pour informer la communauté radioamateure des derniers développements en radioamateurisme et chez RAC. Le gérant du bulletin officiel, dans chaque section de RAC, est responsable du recrutement et de la supervision d'une équipe de personnes en poste pour le bulletin officiel (Official Bulletin Stations) chargées de diffuser les nouvelles et les informations d'intérêt pour les amateurs dans la section et aussi de trouver un moyen de faire parvenir l'information à tous les OBS.

Service d'observateurs officiels

Ce programme a été mis sur pied pour encourager l'usage traditionnel hautement qualifié des bandes radioamateures. Le but du programme est à l'effet de renforcer les bonnes habitudes opérationnelles sur les ondes. Sanctionner les mauvaises habitudes relève de la responsabilité d'Industrie Canada. Une connaissance approfondie des règlements de la radiocommunication et des circulaires d'information sur la radiocommunication (Radiocommunication Information Circulars - RICs) est nécessaire à l'exercice de la fonction d'observateur.

Réseau régional d'alerte radioamateur

Un nouveau service, le "Réseau régional d'alerte radioamateur"i; (RARAN), a été mis sur pied par les « Services sur le terrain » de RAC pour soutenir l'Alerte AMBER, une structure volontaire coopérative réunissant une variété de supporteurs parmi lesquels des stations de radio et de télévision, certains intérêts commerciaux ainsi que les ministères des Transports provinciaux. Le plan opérationnel relève de la police. Le plan permet d’avertir la sécurité policière et de fournir de l'information pertinente concernant l'enlèvement d'enfants, de manière à aider à leur localisation dans l'espace public. Jusqu'à maintenant, des radioamateurs en Ontario et en Colombie britannique forment volontairement le réseau. RARAN, aussi, est actif dans ces deux sections. Si vous êtes d'accord et en mesure de participer à l'un ou l'autre des réseaux, vous êtes invité à vous enregistrer en cliquant sur le nom de la province concernée, ci-haut. Plus d'informations à propos de l'Alerte Amber au Canada sont disponibles à http://www.rcmp-grc.gc.ca/omc-ned/news-nouv/amber-eng.htm.

Tout radioamateur désirant aider à la mise sur pied d’un RARAN dans une province qui n’en a pas, devrait communiquer avec le gérant de section et le vice-président de RAC aux « Services sur le terrain ».

Liste d'honneur pour services au public

Dans chaque écrit consacré aux services publics et publié dans The Canadian Amateur (TCA), une liste d'honneur pour services au public (Public Service Honour Roll - PSHR) reconnaît les efforts, sous plusieurs aspects, de radioamateurs actifs dans un service public. Ceci inclus les opérations du réseau, la gestion du trafic radio, les activités d'urgence et le soutien aux communications des services publics. Il est probable, qu'en raison de certains aspects de vos activités de radioamateur, vous soyez déjà admissible à la liste des récipiendaires d'honneur pour services au public (PSHR). Pour information cliquez ICI.

Note: Au Canada, Amateur Radio Emergency Service(ARES) de RAC et le logo ARES sont enregistrés comme marques de commerce de Radio Amateurs du Canada inc sous le numéro TMA716313 émis par le Bureau de la propriété intellectuelle d'Industrie Canada.  Tout usage du terme AMATEUR RADIO EMERGENCY SERVICE (ARES) et du logo ARES requiert une licence ou une permission de Radio Amateurs of/du Canada inc.