Home

Site Map

Contact RAC

Join RAC

Search

Français


  Log Into Members' Section  
Register Mbr. No.: Password: Forgot your password?

RAC

In some areas the National Traffic System has slowly declined in activity. Section Managers and Section Traffic Managers are encouraged to promote and oversee the NTS in each Section. Not all of the nets listed on this page are part of the NTS although they may pass formal traffic from time to time.

National Traffic System -- A Multi-tiered Communications Network

The National Traffic System (NTS) is the principal facility for medium to long range traffic. It is organized on the basis of daily operation, in consonance with the operating habits of the average radio amateur. In emergencies, NTS is geared to go into continuous operation in accordance with the needs and the extent of the particular emergency.

The National Traffic System consists of four levels of traffic nets which operate in an orderly time sequence to effect a definite traffic flow pattern from point of origin to point of destination. A message flows through the National Traffic System in a manner similar to an air line passenger who starts out in a small town with a destination across the continent in another small town. He has to change carriers several times in the process, starting with a small feeder air line, changing to a regional carrier, to a transcontinental carrier, back to a regional, and then to the feeder which lands at the destination town.

In a similar manner, the trans-continental message starts with the originating station, often right at the disaster site, is picked up on a local net, which transfers it to the regional and then trans-continental net and then back down to the destination for delivery by a local net. Throughout the process, the message is handled only by radio amateurs who are trained and practiced to professional standards in traffic-handling. The routing from end to end is a controlled process so that the message accuracy and integrity is maintained.

This is in distinct contrast to the potentially haphazard handling a message may receive if it is sent through uncontrolled amateur radio net routing, where it may be handled by well-meaning but untrained operators. The average radio amateur is simply not familiar enough with proper traffic net and traffic handling procedures to ensure accurate and consistent transmission.

Local nets are those which cover small areas such as a community, city, county or metropolitan area, smaller than a RAC Section. Many operate by VHF FM at times or on days most convenient to their members. Often these are designated as ARES nets, but they do not specialize in traffic handling. Local nets are intended mainly for local delivery of traffic when delivery can ordinarily be effected by non-toll telephone.

Some NTS local nets operate on a daily basis, just as do other nets in the NTS system. These put the traffic as close as possible to its actual destination before delivery. This provides regular practices for a procedure which might be essential in a real emergency, where other forms of telephone and cellular communication may not be available, due to damage or overload.

Listeners and check-ins are welcome on the Local traffic nets. You should listen sufficiently so that you know the net procedures before checking in. There are also Learning Nets in some locations.

National Traffic System activities in each RAC Section are under the direction of the Section Traffic Manager (STM), who is appointed by the Section Manager (SM). Each NTS net operates under a Net Manager (NM) who is appointed by the STM. Being officers of RAC, these appointments must be RAC members.

For more detailed information, visit our ARES/NTS Frequently Asked Questions page.

Please contact your Section Manager or the Section Traffic Manager (listed below) if you want to know more about how you can participate. (STMs may order Official Field Organization ID Badges using this order form.)

The RAC Field Organization now has a National Traffic System Coordinator (NTSC) in the person of Hew Lines, VA7HU. Hew is a traffic handler of long and extensive experience. As an Assistant to the VPFS, his function is to offer advice and support for existing NTS nets or to assist in creating new ones, as well as to advise the VPFS in NTS matters. He will also assist in an advisory capacity with non-NTS nets. .

Below are the names and addresses of some of the volunteers across the country who contribute their time and effort to making the RAC National Traffic System organization a success.  You, too, can be part of this useful and fun resource.

Complete listings of NTS digital nets may be seen at NTS Digital.

For further information about the NTS please see Section II of the Public Service Communications Manual. The PSCM is used by both the ARRL and RAC. Wherever "ARRL" or "the league" appear in the text, please read "RAC".

An additional quick reference guide has been drafted by VE7GN and can be adopted for use by all provinces and is available at the following link NTS Handbook.

If you have questions concerning a specific net that is listed below, please contact that net's Net Manager.

Those nets which are not formal traffic nets interoperating with the NTS, such as ARES nets, are local service or specialty nets and many are located across Canada. RAC has no input as to how those nets operate or who the Net Manager will be.

Other nets listed may not be formal traffic nets, but may have the ability to pass such traffic. They are listed here as a courtesy. For information on other non-NTS Canadian nets of which RAC is aware, please see Canadian Nets.


National Traffic System Coordinator

Hew Lines, VA7HU
9494 MARYLAND DR
SIDNEY, BC  V8L 2R6
Telephone: 250-656-6471
E-Mail:

Newfoundland and Labrador

Section Traffic Manager

Joe Earles, VO1BQ
162 Carrick dr.
St-John's, NL  A1A 4P8
Tel: 709-738-2437
E-mail:

Maritimes

Temporarily Vacant

Net Manager - Atlantic Provinces Net

Temporarily Vacant

Quebec

Temporarily Vacant

Ontario East

Temporarily Vacant

Net Manager - NTS Digital

Pierre Mainville, VA3PM
23 CHATSWORTH DR
BRAMPTON, ON  L6X 2L8
Tel: 905-453-6644
E-mail:

Ontario North

Temporarily Vacant

Net Manager - Section ARES Net

Allan Boyd, VE3AJB
27 RED MILL RD
BOX 208
LITTLE CURRENT, ON  P0P 1K0
Tel: 705-368-2779
Bus. Tel: 705-368-2200
E-mail:

Ontario South

Temporarily Vacant

Ontario GTA

Temporarily Vacant

Manitoba

Section Traffic Manager

Jan Schippers, VE4JS
202 Sadler Avenue
Winnipeg, MB  R2M 1P3
Tel: 204-417-3518
E-mail:

Net Manager - MEPN

Charles Allen Bailey,
205 - 2340 Ottawa Ave
Brandon, MB  R7B 2T4

Saskatchewan

Temporarily Vacant

Alberta

Section Traffic Manager

Jack Humphries, VE6JRH
4810 - 56 STREET
OLDS, AB  T4H 1G5
Tel: 403-556-3839
E-mail:

Net Manager - Alberta Traffic Net

Temporarily Vacant

British Columbia

Section Traffic Manager

Allan Ross, VE7CYY
790 WEST QUEENS RD
NORTH VANCOUVER, BC  V7N 2L6
Tel: 604-988-1030
E-mail:

Net Manager - British Columbia Emergency Net

Len C. Hooper, VE7XLH
5101 Island Highway West
QUALICUM BEACH, BC  V9K 1Z1
Tel: 250-752-9278
E-mail:
Packet:

Net Manager - British Columbia Public Service Net

DREW WATSON, VA7DR
131 CEDAR LANE
SALT SPRING ISLAND, BC  V8K 1R1
Tel: 250-537-9159
E-mail:

Net Manager - BC-Yukon Traffic Net

Allan Ross, VE7CYY
790 WEST QUEENS RD
NORTH VANCOUVER, BC  V7N 2L6
Tel: 604-988-1030
E-mail:

Accueil

Carte du site

Nous joindre

Adhérer à RAC

Chercher

English


  Connecter au section des membres  
Inscrire No. de mem.: Mot-de-passe: Mot-de-passe oublié?

RAC

Dans certaines régions, les activités du « Système national de trafic radio » sont en déclin. Les gérants de section et les gérants du trafic radio de la section sont invités à promouvoir le NTS (National Traffic System) dans leur section. Ce ne sont pas tous les membres du réseau (voir ci-dessous) qui appartiennent au NTS, quoique de temps en temps ils puissent retransmettre des messages officiels.

Le Système national de trafic radio - un réseau de communication à « niveaux multiples »

Le Système national de trafic radio (NTS) est le principal moyen d'échanges radio sur de moyennes et longues distances. L'organisation fonctionne sur une base quotidienne, dans le respect des habitudes opérationnelles de la moyenne des radioamateurs. En période d’urgence, le NTS peut fonctionner sans arrêt, en portant attention aux besoins particuliers et à l'importance de 'urgence.

Le Système national de trafic radio consiste en un réseau à quatre niveaux, lesquels fonctionnent selon un protocole déterminé pour faire parvenir un message du point d'origine au point de destination. Le message se déplace sur le NTS à la manière d'un passager d'une ligne aérienne qui partirait d'une petite ville à destination d'une autre n'importe où sur le continent. Il doit changer d'avion plusieurs fois en débutant avec un petit appareil local, puis un transporteur régional, puis un autre de type transcontinental et refaire le parcours à l'inverse jusqu’à la communauté de destination.

De la même manière, le message originant d'un station, souvent sur les lieux du désastre, est envoyé à un réseau local, lequel après avoir capté le message, le retransmet au niveau régional qui, à son tour, l'envoie sur un réseau transcontinental. Le retour s'effectue à rebours et le message parvient à la destination via le réseau local. Durant tout le processus, le message est traité par des radioamateurs seulement. Ils sont formés professionnellement au traitement du trafic radio et en respectent les règles et l'étique. Le cheminement d'un point à un autre est soumis à un processus de contrôle tel que le message conserve son intégralité.

Il faut voir là une différence marquée par rapport à la possibilité d'une manipulation hasardeuse à laquelle un message peut être soumis s'il est traité par un amateur non formé à la discipline du réseau. La bonne volonté ne saurait remplacer la formation. Le radioamateur moyen est simplement non suffisamment familier avec le réseau et les procédures à suivre pour assurer une transmission appropriée et valable du message.

Les réseaux locaux sont ceux qui couvrent de petits espaces tels les villages, les comtés, les zones urbaines ou autres espaces plus petits qu'une section de RAC. Durant le jour ou à des moments précis, plusieurs réseaux opèrent sur VHF FM , un mode convenant davantage aux membres. Souvent ces réseaux sont désignés sous le nom de Réseaux ARES, mais ils ne sont pas spécialisés dans la gestion du trafic radio. Les réseaux locaux sont conçus principalement pour le trafic radio local, là où la livraison du message peut ordinairement s’effectuer par téléphone, sans frais.

Certains réseaux locaux du NTS fonctionnent sur une base quotidienne, comme le font d'autres réseaux du système NTS. Simulant une situation d'urgence, ils savent créer des messages radio d'un aspect aussi réel que possible avant de les envoyer. Ceci permet des pratiques régulières et essentielles de la procédure à utiliser au moment d'une véritable urgence, lorsque les réseaux de communication habituels, comme le téléphone maison ou cellulaire, ne sont pas disponibles en raison de surcharge ou de dommage.

Ceux qui écoutent et enregistrent les messages sont les bienvenus sur les réseaux locaux de trafic radio. Mais ils doivent écouter suffisamment afin de comprendre les procédures du réseau avant d'y entrer. Il y a des réseaux d'apprentissage dans certaines localités.

Les activités du Système national de trafic radio dans chaque section de RAC sont sous la direction du gérant du trafic radio de la section (Section Traffic Manager - STM), lequel est nommé par le gérant de section (SM). Chaque réseau NTS fonctionne sous la direction d'un gérant de réseau (Net Manager - NM) qui tient sa nomination du STM. Parce que ce sont des postes officiels de RAC, ces nominations reviennent aux membres de RAC seulement.

Pour plus de détails, visitez les pages FAQ d'ARES/NTS.

Veuillez communiquer avec votre gérant de section ou votre gérant du trafic radio de votre section (liste ci-dessous) si vous voulez savoir comment participer. (Les STM peuvent commander les badges d'indentification (ID) de l'Organisation officielle en utilisant le formulaire de commande.)

L'Organisation sur le terrain de RAC a maintenant son coordonnateur du Système national de trafic radio (NTSC) en la personne de Hew Lines, VA7HU. Hew a une grande et longue expérience dans le domaine de la gestion du trafic radio. À titre d'assistant VPFS, sa fonction l'autorise à donner son avis et à offrir du soutien aux réseaux NTS existants, à aider à la création de nouvelles unités et à conseiller les VPFS sur des sujets touchant le NTS. Il peut aussi aider des réseaux autres que NTS. .

Ci-dessous, vous pourrez lire le nom et l'adresse de quelques bénévoles partout au Canada qui ne ménagent pas leur temps et leurs efforts pour assurer le succès du Système national de trafic radio.  Vous aussi vous pouvez devenir partenaire du NTS, cette ressource utile et agréable.

La liste complète des réseaux numériques du NTS peut être consultée à NTS numérique.

Pour plus d'information au sujet du NTS veuillez vous rendre à la section II du manuel de communication des Services public (PSCM). Le PSCM est utilisé par ARRL et RAC. (Quand les termes "ARRL" ou "la ligue" apparaissent dans le texte, « les remplacer » par RAC).

Si vous avez des questions concernant un réseau particulier listé ci-dessous, veuillez communiquer avec le gérant du réseau.

Les réseaux non officiellement « réseaux de trafic radio » interagissant avec le NTS, tels les réseaux ARES, sont des réseaux locaux ou spécialisés dont plusieurs se retrouvent à la grandeur du Canada. RAC n'intervient pas dans le fonctionnement de ces réseaux ou dans le choix des gérants.

Les autres réseaux listés peuvent ne pas être des réseaux de trafic radio, mais peuvent être habilités à véhiculer le trafic radio. Ils sont listés ici par courtoisie. Pour information sur les autres réseaux canadiens non-NTS dont RAC s'occupe, s.v.p. aller à réseaux canadiens.


Coordonnateur du Système national du trafic radio

Hew Lines, VA7HU
9494 MARYLAND DR
SIDNEY, BC  V8L 2R6
Téléphone: 250-656-6471
Couriel:

Terre Neuve et Labrador

Gérant du traffic de section

Joe Earles, VO1BQ
162 Carrick dr.
St-John's, NL  A1A 4P8
Tél: 709-738-2437
Couriel:

Maritimes

Temporairement vacant

Gérant du réseau - Atlantic Provinces Net

Temporairement vacant

Quebec

Temporairement vacant

Ontario est

Temporairement vacant

Gérant du réseau - NTS Digital

Pierre Mainville, VA3PM
23 CHATSWORTH DR
BRAMPTON, ON  L6X 2L8
Tél: 905-453-6644
Couriel:

Nord d'Ontario

Temporairement vacant

Gérant du réseau - Section ARES Net

Allan Boyd, VE3AJB
27 RED MILL RD
BOX 208
LITTLE CURRENT, ON  P0P 1K0
Tél: 705-368-2779
Tél. Bur.: 705-368-2200
Couriel:

Sud d'Ontario

Temporairement vacant

Ontario GTA

Temporairement vacant

Manitoba

Gérant du traffic de section

Jan Schippers, VE4JS
202 Sadler Avenue
Winnipeg, MB  R2M 1P3
Tél: 204-417-3518
Couriel:

Gérant du réseau - MEPN

Charles Allen Bailey,
205 - 2340 Ottawa Ave
Brandon, MB  R7B 2T4

Saskatchewan

Temporairement vacant

Alberta

Gérant du traffic de section

Jack Humphries, VE6JRH
4810 - 56 STREET
OLDS, AB  T4H 1G5
Tél: 403-556-3839
Couriel:

Gérant du réseau - Alberta Traffic Net

Temporairement vacant

British Columbia

Gérant du traffic de section

Allan Ross, VE7CYY
790 WEST QUEENS RD
NORTH VANCOUVER, BC  V7N 2L6
Tél: 604-988-1030
Couriel:

Gérant du réseau - British Columbia Emergency Net

Len C. Hooper, VE7XLH
5101 Island Highway West
QUALICUM BEACH, BC  V9K 1Z1
Tél: 250-752-9278
Couriel:
Paquet:

Gérant du réseau - British Columbia Public Service Net

DREW WATSON, VA7DR
131 CEDAR LANE
SALT SPRING ISLAND, BC  V8K 1R1
Tél: 250-537-9159
Couriel:

Gérant du réseau - BC-Yukon Traffic Net

Allan Ross, VE7CYY
790 WEST QUEENS RD
NORTH VANCOUVER, BC  V7N 2L6
Tél: 604-988-1030
Couriel: