Home

Site Map

Contact RAC

Join RAC

Search

Français


  Log Into Members' Section  
Register Mbr. No.: Password: Forgot your password?

RAC

What is the Official Observer Service?

First of all, it is NOT for "policing" the Amateur Radio bands. It IS a volunteer effort wherein Radio Amateurs help other Radio Amateurs, in good faith and in the mutually friendly spirit of the Guidelines for the Radio Amateur.

This program was developed to encourage the traditional high standards on the Amateur Radio Bands.

The program objective is to reinforce good operating habits. Punishing bad operating habits is the task of the enforcement side of Industry Canada, not OO stations.

A thorough knowledge of the Radiocommunication Regulations and the Radiocommunication Information Circulars (RICs) is a necessity in performing Official Observer functions.

The Official Observer actively looks for and reports on stations that have unusually good signals or operating procedures and which set an example for the rest of the community by displaying the best that Amateur Radio has to offer. At least 70% of notices sent every month by Official Observers will be Good Operator Notices.

The Official Observer also notes troubling operating practices or technical difficulties by a few amateurs. It is quite common for an amateur to be unaware of a harmonic or spurious signal strong enough to be heard in distant places, sometimes outside the amateur bands. Even experienced Advanced Qualification holders, especially those running high power, or involved in control operations, are not immune to excessive harmonic radiation.

The operator of a station with key clicks or chirp on his CW signals may be unaware that they exist. Broad signals, with by-products of splatter and distortion, are frequent on the phone bands, while FM signals are prone to over-deviation. These technical difficulties are subject to Advisory Notices. However, key clicks and phone splatter can also result from receiver overload due to extremely strong or local signals. Consequently, the Official Observer must make sure that any noted discrepancy is not the result of deficiencies in their own receiver or careless monitoring practice.

The recipient of an Advisory Notice  expects absolute accuracy.  Advisory Notices are the result of detached objective monitoring in which the Official Observer is not otherwise personally involved. Official Observers will not be sending a notice to someone interfering with them or a net or repeater in which they are operating.

Official Observer appointments are made by the Section Manager or the SM's designee, the Official Observer Coordinator. Initially, the program is limited to one or two Official Observers per RAC Section. However, more may be appointed to expand or supplement the existing system.

Download a pdf version of the Official Observers Guide.

Official Field Organization Badges may be ordered using this order form.

A list of Official Observers and Coordinators currently in place is shown below.


Official Observers

Newfoundland and Labrador

Temporarily Vacant

Official Observer Station

Temporarily Vacant

Maritimes

Temporarily Vacant

Official Observer Station

Temporarily Vacant

Quebec

Temporarily Vacant

Official Observer Station

Temporarily Vacant

Ontario East

Temporarily Vacant

Ontario North

Temporarily Vacant

Official Observer Station

NORMAN BELL, VE3XRC
217 UNIVERSITY DRIVE
THUNDER BAY, ON  P7C 2C3
Tel: 807-577-9316

Ontario South

Official Observer Co-ordinator

A AYERS, VE3QZ
50 VERONICA DRIVE
PORT CREDIT, ON  

Official Observer Co-ordinator

Ralph Muecke, VE3CIW
141 Woodfern dr.
Scarborough, ON  
Tel: 416-751-4058
E-mail:

Official Observer Station

John M. Adametz, VE3ZJX
3474 County Rd 7
Chesterville, ON  

Ontario GTA

Temporarily Vacant

Manitoba

Temporarily Vacant

Official Observer Station

Temporarily Vacant

Saskatchewan

Temporarily Vacant

Official Observer Station

Temporarily Vacant

Alberta

Temporarily Vacant

Official Observer Station

Don Moman, VE6JY
BOX 127
LAMONT, AB  T0B 2R0

Tom Martens, VE6TRM
BOX 1024
RAYMOND, AB  T0K 2S0
Tel: 403-752-4486

British Columbia

Temporarily Vacant

Accueil

Carte du site

Nous joindre

Adhérer à RAC

Chercher

English


  Connecter au section des membres  
Inscrire No. de mem.: Mot-de-passe: Mot-de-passe oublié?

RAC

Qu'est-ce que le Service d'observateurs officiels?

En premier lieu, soyons clair: ce service ne cherche pas à « policer » les bandes radioamateures. Il constitue un effort bénévole d'entraide radioamateure fait en toute bonne foi, selon l'esprit d'amitié exprimé dans le guide du radioamateurisme.

Ce programme a été développé pour encourager le respect des hauts standards relatifs aux bandes radioamateures.

L'objectif du programme est de renforcer les bonnes habitudes opérationnelles des amateurs. Sanctionner les mauvaises habitudes appartient à Industrie Canada, pas aux stations OO.

Très bien connaître les règlements de la radiocommunication et le contenu des circulaires d'informations de la radiocommunication est nécessaire au travail des observateurs officiels.

L'observateur officiel recherche activement les stations qui émettent habituellement avec un bon signal et qui font montre d'une bonne connaissance des procédures. Il rapporte ces bons comportements et les cite en exemple au reste de la communauté radioamateure. Il reproduit ce que le radioamateurisme offre de mieux. Au moins 70% des reportages envoyés chaque mois par les observateurs officiels se retrouve dans liste des bons opérateurs.

L'observateur officiel se préoccupe aussi des pratiques douteuses et des difficultés techniques des amateurs. Il est fréquent chez un amateur d'être inattentif aux harmoniques ou aux interférences suffisamment fortes pour être entendues à distance, parfois en dehors des bandes radioamateures. Même les amateurs expérimentés et qualifiés, spécialement ceux qui utilisent des émetteurs à haute puissance ou impliqués dans des contrôles opérationnels, ne sont pas exempts d'émission excessive d'harmoniques.

L'opérateur d'une station peut ne pas être conscient de la présence de “clicks” ou « chirps » dans son signal en CW. Les signaux à bande passante plus large, utilisés en téléphonie, sont souvent porteurs de distorsion, de parasites et de brouillages, pendant qu'en modulation de fréquence (FM) il pourrait y avoir déviation de fréquence. Ces difficultés techniques sont sujettes à des avis-conseils. Cependant, les "clicks" en CW et la distorsion en téléphonie peuvent aussi être causés par un signal trop fort, souvent local, parvenant au récepteur qui s'en trouve surchargé. Conséquemment, l'observateur officiel doit s'assurer que les difficultés observées ne résultent pas d'une mauvaise fonctionnalité du récepteur ou d’un manque d'attention lors de son utilisation.

Le destinataire de l'avis-conseil s'attend à la plus grande objectivité.  Les avis-conseils sont le résultat des observations les plus objectives à propos desquelles l'observateur officiel n'est pas impliqué personnellement. L'observateur officiel n'envoie pas d'avis à quiconque cause de l'interférence soit sur le réseau ou soit sur le répéteur qu'il utilise.

La nomination des observateurs officiels est du ressort du gérant de section ou de son remplaçant désigné, le coordonnateur des observateurs officiels. En principe, le programme est limité à un ou deux observateurs officiels par section de RAC. Cependant, il peut y en avoir plus pour aider au fonctionnement ou à l'expansion du système.

Télécharger la version pdf du guide des obsevateurs officiels.

L'épinglette de l'Organisation à l'extérieur peut être commandée à partir de ce formulaire.

Ci-dessous, la liste des observateurs et des coordonnateurs officiels actuellement en poste.


Observateurs officiels

Terre Neuve et Labrador

Temporairement vacant

Station observateur officiel

Temporarily Vacant

Maritimes

Temporairement vacant

Station observateur officiel

Temporarily Vacant

Quebec

Temporairement vacant

Station observateur officiel

Temporarily Vacant

Ontario est

Temporairement vacant

Nord d'Ontario

Temporairement vacant

Station observateur officiel

NORMAN BELL, VE3XRC
217 UNIVERSITY DRIVE
THUNDER BAY, ON  P7C 2C3
Tel: 807-577-9316

Sud d'Ontario

Co-ordinateur des observateurs officiels

A AYERS, VE3QZ
50 VERONICA DRIVE
PORT CREDIT, ON  

Co-ordinateur des observateurs officiels

Ralph Muecke, VE3CIW
141 Woodfern dr.
Scarborough, ON  
Tél: 416-751-4058
Couriel:

Station observateur officiel

John M. Adametz, VE3ZJX
3474 County Rd 7
Chesterville, ON  

Ontario GTA

Temporairement vacant

Manitoba

Temporairement vacant

Station observateur officiel

Temporarily Vacant

Saskatchewan

Temporairement vacant

Station observateur officiel

Temporarily Vacant

Alberta

Temporairement vacant

Station observateur officiel

Don Moman, VE6JY
BOX 127
LAMONT, AB  T0B 2R0

Tom Martens, VE6TRM
BOX 1024
RAYMOND, AB  T0K 2S0
Tel: 403-752-4486

British Columbia

Temporairement vacant