Home

Site Map

Contact RAC

Join RAC

Search

Français


  Log Into Members' Section  
Register Mbr. No.: Password: Forgot your password?

RAC

CARAB Meeting Minutes

Terms of Reference

Objective

The Canadian Amateur Radio Advisory Board (CARAB) is a non profit consultative group consisting of members of the Radio Amateurs of Canada (RAC) and the Spectrum Management Operations Branch of Industry Canada (IC). Its function is to provide a consultative forum between Canadian radio amateurs and the regulator. Other than provided herein, CARAB is acknowledged as a consultative entity. It is understood that agreed-upon action is not binding on either the RAC or IC.

Composition

a) Chairs:

CARAB is co-chaired by the President of RAC and the Senior Director of Spectrum Management Operations, Spectrum Management Operations Branch of IC.

b) Membership

CARAB membership comprises the co-chairs, the RAC Vice President for Regulatory Affairs, the Manager of Operational Policies, Spectrum Management Operations, Industry Canada, and such staff of either organization as agreed to by both co-chairs.

Meetings

CARAB meets in person for one-half day once annually in the spring, using an agenda prearranged by the co-chairs. An optional second meeting, either in person or using electronic means, may be held during the fall at the call of either co-chair. The co-chairs preside over alternate meetings. Every attempt is made to hold meetings coincident with RAC Board or national executive meetings.

The summary record is to be prepared within 30 days of the meeting by the meeting chairís organization, and approved by the co-chairs before being distributed to IC staff, RAC members and other parties as deemed appropriate.

From time to time, matters may be raised at CARAB meetings or elsewhere to be followed up at special-topic meetings or teleconferences. These meetings are held on an as-required basis between the appropriate staff members of both organizations, at times and places agreed upon by the participants. The outcomes of these meetings will be reported on at the next CARAB meeting.

Termination

The agreement to continue CARAB remains in effect until one or both parties give notice of at least 60 days that it intends to withdraw.

Approval

These terms of reference were approved by the President of RAC and the Director General, Spectrum Management Operations of Industry Canada.

Fiona gilfillan, Director General, Spectrum Management Operations, Industry Canada, and;

Geoff Bawden, President, Radio Amateurs of Canada

Accueil

Carte du site

Nous joindre

Adhérer à RAC

Chercher

English


  Connecter au section des membres  
Inscrire No. de mem.: Mot-de-passe: Mot-de-passe oublié?

RAC

Procès verbaux des réunions CARAB

Termes de référence

Objectif

Le Comité consultatif est un groupe sans but lucratif formé de membres provenant de Radio Amateurs du Canada (RAC), ainsi que de la division de la Réglementation des radiocommunications d'Industrie Canada (IC). Le comité agit à titre de forum consultatif entre les radioamateurs canadiens et le chargé de la réglementation. De plus, le CARAB est reconnu à titre d'entité nationale de consultation. Par contre, il est convenu que les mesures acceptées ne sont concluantes ni pour RAC ni pour IC.

Composition

a) Présidents:

Le CARAB est co-présidé par le président de RAC et le directeur des Opérations de la gestion du spectre, direction générale de la Réglementation des radiocommunications.

b) Membres:

CARAB est composé de huit membres, y compris les co-présidents. Une fois l'an, chaque co-président doit nommer trois membres de son organisation respective. Les membres du CARAB doivent en venir à un consensus en ce qui a trait à la nomination des candidats qui, par la suite, sont nommés pour une période d'un an.

Réunions

Les membres du CARAB se rencontreront deux fois l'an, soit au printemps et à l'automne. Ils suivent l'ordre du jour déjà établi par les présidents. Les co-présidents devront présider la rencontre à tour de rôle. Dans la mesure du possible, ils tentent de faire coïncider les rencontres avec celles des réunions nationales exécutives de RAC. Pour inviter des gens à participer à une rencontre, il faut obtenir l'approbation des deux co-présidents.

IC est responsable de la production du rapport sommaire de la rencontre. Ce rapport sommaire est approuvé par les co-présidents avant d'être distribué au personnel d'IC, aux membres du CARAB, et aux autres parties jugées appropriées.

Cessation

L'entente de poursuivre les activités du CARAB demeurera en vigueur jusqu'à ce qu'une partie, ou les deux, donnent un préavis d'au moins 60 jours qu'ils ont l'intention de se retirer.

Approbation

Les termes de référence ont été approuvé par le Conseil d'administration de RAC et le sous-ministre adjoint, de spectre technologies de l'information et télécommunications d'Industrie Canada.

Michael Binder, Sous-ministre adjoint, Spectre technologies d'information et télécommunications, Industrie et Science Canada, et;

J. Farrell Hopwood, Président, Radio Amateurs du Canada