On 8 May 2014, the IARU member-societies completed voting on proposals nominating Timothy S. Ellam, VE6SH/G4HUA and Ole Garpestad, LA2RR as IARU President and Vice President, respectively, for the five-year term beginning 9 May 2014. With 51 affirmative votes required for adoption, there were 67 affirmative votes for Mr. Ellam and 67 for Mr. Garpestad. Mr. Ellam served as IARU Vice President from 2004 until 2009 at which time he was first elected as IARU President in 2009 and began a five-year term on 9 May 2009. Mr. Garpestad was first elected as IARU Vice President in 2009 at the same time Mr. Ellam became President.

Upon his re-election, Mr. Ellam said: “I am very honoured to have been elected as President of IARU for another term and grateful for the support from the Administrative Council and our member-societies. I am excited about the future of the Amateur Radio Services and look forward to working with the IARU team to meet the challenges ahead and to build on the work we have undertaken in the last term.”  (source IARU).

RAC extends their sincere congratulations to Timothy Ellam for this re-election and wish him the best during this new mandate.



RAC Communications, Ottawa ON. (T) 1-877-273-8304. (E)